Fall Fun in Baltimore

The leaves are changing, the air is chilling – fall is here, and it’s time to get off campus and welcome the new season!  Baltimore is filled with fun and free autumnal activities that are perfect for college students: festivals, farmer’s markets, and more!

October is Free Fall Baltimore, a month-long celebration with daily free cultural events around the city.  The possibilities are endless – free museums, dance classes, writing workshops, art classes, lectures, concerts, the list goes on and on!  Be sure to checkImage out the event catalogue online and start planning your adventures early – some activities fill up quickly and require a reservation.  I know I’ll be taking full advantage of the guitar workshop put on by the Baltimore Classical Guitar Society.  Who knows, maybe this will be my jumpstart to becoming the next Taylor Swift!  (A girl can dream, right?)  If that plan fails, maybe I’ll switch over to another medium and become famous that way.  Perhaps I’ll try my hand at ceramics – now, I’m sure I’m not alone when I say that the last time I worked with clay was probably my 4th grade art class – but not to worry, there’s a workshop for that!  Baltimore Clayworks will be putting on three ‘Cup-a-thons’ where participants have the chance to learn the techniques, make a ceramic cup, and then donate it to be sold for ‘Buy A Cup, Give A Class.’ This special program sells donated cups to sponsor art classes for Baltimore’s under-resourced communities.  Ceramics and charity, that’s what I call a win-win!  Or maybe, I’ll throw caution to the wind, spice up my life, and join a dance class instead – I hear the Dancing With The Stars auditions are coming up!  Maybe that’s where I’ll catch my big break.  But enough about my potential fame and fortune, the Free Fall Baltimore event is a great way for every college student to connect with the culture of the city; and remember, there’s nothing to lose– IT’S ALL FREE!

Image

October 4th– 6th is the annual Fell’s Point Fun Festival.  This weekend-long bash features live music, great food, and hundreds of vendors selling everything from Natty Boh t-shirts to wall décor (perfect for anyone lookin’ to spruce up their dorm room like I am). The event draws people from all over Baltimore, all over Maryland, all over the East Coast! So parking can get a bit tricky – my suggestion would be to hop on the Charm City Circulator and completely avoid the headache that is big-eventparking.  And for all my 21 and over friends, be sure to pack that ID!  The festival boasts not one, but TWO beer gardens – how awesome is that?  That’s on top of the dozens of bars and pubs already lining the streets of Fells!  So grab your friends, grab your roomies and head down to Fell’s Point to join the party!

ImageIf you’re looking for a change of pace and a chance to get out of the city for a while then head out to historic Stevenson and visit Rodger’s Farm.  Up for a challenge? Then take on the twists and turns of the farm’s gigantic corn maze and put your sense of direction to thetest!  Or, if a leisurely stroll is more your style, head over to the pumpkin patch – and be sure to pick up a cup of fresh apple cider along the way!  The farm has several other attractions including: hayrides, a large picnic area, food and refreshments, and a farmer’s market with tons of local produce.  My personal favorite is the petting zoo! Always a good idea to pack some hand sanitizer though – you gotta be able to enjoy all those sweet fall treats without the fear of germs from your new friends, Wilbur and Babe.

The possibilities of fall fun in and around Baltimore are endless, and winter will be upon us before you know it – so get out there and enjoy the season before it slips away!

 

-Madison Boris, intern

Leave a Reply

