Bagby Pizza is a big deal!

Hello!

It’s definitely been way too long since we chatted about happenings in Baltimore, so let’s get right into it!

This weekend, the weather was absolutely beautiful, and it truly felt like summertime in Baltimore.  I was  walking through the Harbor by the Aquarium and World Trade Center and I saw a slew of people patronizing restaurants, hanging out and about, running, waiting to board the new Seadog Cruises…plain and simple….it was gorgeous!

Nothing like a beautiful Saturday to inspire me to get my head out of the books and get some pizza at a popular place in Baltimore, The Bagby Pizza Company.  I live in Little Italy, which is only a hop, skip, and a jump away.  I always pass it saying I will try it someday and end up going to Taco Fiesta or some place in Fell’s.  That day, I was determined to break the  pattern and go for it!

Bagby Pizza Company is located off Fleet and Exeter Streets right across the Whole Foods in Harbor East.  In terms of location, it’s definitely perfect and attracts the workforce crowd, tourists, and locals in the surrounding neighborhood.  The restaurant is located in the Bagby Furniture Company Building which has a lot of historical significance – the building was constructed between 1902 and 1907 and it housed the furniture company for quite some time.  The building was officially listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.  With the recent growth and development in Harbor East, the Bagby building has been rejuvenated with new tenants such as Vino Rosina, Bikram Yoga, and other businesses.

When you walk inside the restaurant, I was definitely impressed with the size and outdoor patio; the decor has a very neutral setting with wood flooring with a rustic, classic Italian kind of vibe.  When you walk in, you go straight to the register, place your order, and seat yourself.   In terms of menu selection, they definitely a wide variety of selections with great salads, sandwiches, soups, and of course pizzas.  My girlfriend and I ordered the Chicken Pesto pizza (minus the chicken…haha)  and a side of greek salad.  The ingredients used in their food are definitely fresh and you get the full flavor explosion in your mouth.  The pizza was also thin crust style, which I’m also a huge fan of!

After talking to a lot of my food enthusiastic friends, a common thing I’ve heard is that it’s hard to find good pizza here in Baltimore.  I partially disagree with that comment.  We’re definitely not New York and nor are we trying to be, but at the same time, you’ve got some solid options here such as Iggie’s, Matthew’s, Angelo’s and for sure Bagby Pizza Company.

Overall, I like the semi-casual setting, simple concept menu, and fresh ingredients in their food.  Since I am in school mode, let’s assign this place a grade…hmm…B+.

As a person trying to target the student population, I urge you the students in Baltimore to branch out and try something new…chain places can’t compare to the local hotspots in the area.  I’ve heard multiple say that for a mid-sized metropolitan area, Baltimore has some pretty amazing food options.

Get your taste buds excited before you head down there…check out their website:  http://bagbypizza.com/

For now, this is Ankur…

Signing off….

Leave a Reply

