Take me out to the ball game… Win or Lose!

Baltimore Orioles. As soon as you hear those words this season you tend to crunch your face in disgust. Unfortunately the O’s have not been doing so great over the past few weeks. But who needs a winning team when you have an AWESOME stadium. Camden Yards is my favorite out and about adventure this summer so far!

Let’s back track a bit. Where‘s a great hotspot before you head over the stadium? Well, if you are a true costal girl like me there is nothing better than sitting outside by the water eating dinner before the game. The best place to have this experience, in my opinion, is Nick’s Fish House located off of Hanover Street right before the Hanover Street Bridge.

When you walk up to Nick’s you walk directly onto the back patio which overlooks the marina. Picnic tables cover the deck and at 3:00 p.m. on a Tuesday you basically can choose to sit anywhere you want! I ordered the steamer platter and a Caesar salad. The steamer platter was a lot more than I could handle! Clams, mussels and shrimp filled my plate! It was a great Birthday dinner! This relaxed, reasonably priced restaurant is a great place to grab a snack before heading over to Camden Yards.

After dinner we headed over to the park. On the way into the park we picked up peanuts and waters since you are allowed to bring these in! Our seats were up in the nosebleeds, but honestly I don’t think there is a bad seat in the house. Well, that might not be true on a night the O’s are playing the Yankees! Yikes! The stadium was full of Yankees fans screaming and yelling at each other. It was almost to the point where you couldn’t enjoy the game! I eventually moved my seat to get away from the shenanigans of the Yankee’s fans.

The O’s put up a good fight in the beginning but after the grand slam hit by one of the Yankees best it was all downhill for the team.  The game didn’t distract me from enjoying the park. The view of the city from the nosebleed seats is incredible. I could actually see my apartment complex in Mt. Vernon from my seat! It was a beautiful, clear June night and we enjoyed it to the fullest. For $8.00 a ticket it was hard to beat a cheaper night out! (I guess there are some benefits to having a losing team in your city, the tickets are cheap!)

So, if you are looking for a reasonable cheap out and about night in Baltimore, please don’t forget about Camden Yards. Hopefully next time the Yankees are in town we can have more O’s fans in the stadium…hopefully.

Until next time…

Kristen

Leave a Reply

