Baltimore – beyond what the media portrays

A couple days ago the Baltimore Business Journal (BBJ) published an article regarding the top metropolitan areas for young adults.  The study, conducted by a BBJ affiliate, analyzed 67 metropolitan areas on different criteria:  employment growth rates, percentage of college-educated and employed adults under 34, and cost of living.  Out of 67 metro areas, Baltimore ranked pretty high – seventeenth to be exact.  Yup, that’s right!!!  No we didn’t beat out Boston or Washington D.C. but we beat out the ATL and Philly!

It was really great to hear this news, because it’s part of Collegetown’s core mission which is to engage current students in the Baltimore region and encourage them to start their careers here.  This great news follows a study by the American Institute of Economic Research (AIER) published in August 2009 which ranked the to college destinations in the country.  With the numerous criteria they analyzed, AIER determined that Baltimore was the seventh best college town in the country. 

With a region plagued by stereotypes and riddled by negative press, it’s nice to see something positive appear in the news!  I will admit, I was once one of those Baltimore cynics.  I graduated from Towson and had the best experience, but I never really knew about the area and what it had to offer me and other students.  At the time all I really knew about Baltimore was the Cheesecke Factory in the Inner Harbor( yeah, I know…lame!), Powerplant, and Hammerjacks (yes, I just aged myself!).  That all changed when I started working in the corporate sector in the city and having to navigate the streets of Baltimore to meet with clients and learning the economic development of Baltimore, so I actually had some talking points with my clients.

Now with this job at Baltimore Collegetown, I have a whole new view of this area and I absolutely love it!  I even live in the city and I love having access to so many great restaurants, neighborhoods, and hotspots.   I do believe the city has its issues – it’s far from perfect (i.e. the transit system)  However, I think it’s important to look at the leadership and see that the city and the surrounding region are truly headed in the right direction (i.e. Creating the Charm City Circulator). 

I truly agree this city is great for young adults and I really feel I am living proof of that  No, this city isn’t for everyone.  I definitely think it’s really important to understand the things you value and that will help you decide what area you want to be in.  At the end of the day, all I am saying is break out of your bubble and try something new and judge a book by its cover, because honestly you never know what you might discover!

To check out the article, check out:  http://baltimore.bizjournals.com/baltimore/stories/2010/03/15/daily1.html?ed=2010-03-15&ana=e_du_pub

For now, this is Ankur…

Signing off

One thought on “Baltimore – beyond what the media portrays

  1. My girlfriend had just started classes at MICA (2 weeks in) when she was robbed of her MP3 player by a 15 year old kid near the school. She chased him down and he was caught by her and a police officer. Her headphones broke in the process. Just over a month later, we sat in court as restitution in the amount of 12 dollars was ordered and the kid got off with barely a slap on the wrist for a broad daylight robbery against a random stranger. The kid was cheerful with the outcome at the end of the trail, happily remarking how it ain’t no thang as he walked out of the Juvenile justice building on the phone.

    Anyway, 2 months had passed and no restitution came. I called up the Juvenile justice restitution department. It was too small of an amount to be put up with a collection agency, and nobody had bothered to let us know. The juvenile justice prosecutor no longer worked in the Juvenile Justice department. Still no money.

    The city can’t even get us 12 dollars back. It’s not about the money, it’s about the principle.

    I am at a complete loss of how to get restitution.

    Based on that experience, I will NEVER recommend Baltimore to anyone as a place to live or work.

Leave a Reply

