Movies on the Pier in Fell’s Point

Recently, I’ve made it a personal mission of mine to go out and explore the different sights in the Baltimore area.  I’ve been here for six years for school and work and there’s still so much I don’t know about this great city.  When I meet people in the area and they ask me “Have you been here?” or “Have you done that?”.  Most of the times my answer is “Oh no, but that does sound interesting!  I’ll def have to check it out!”  So, note to self”  Need to ‘check it out’ more often!

Anyways, I was working on my Collegetown Calendar of Events to distribute to new students.  This calendar will highlight different events that other schools are sponsoring and other fun things going on in the county/city.  In my research, I stumbled upon Movies on the Pier in Fell’s Point.  Basically, movies are played on a 300 ft screen at the Broadway Pier at Broadway and Thames St throughout the summer.  Last night when I went with my friend Priscilla, we saw I Am Legend. 

It was a fun experience to say the least!  The event was BYOC – Bring your own chair!  LOL!  You can get water and popcorn there for $1 each and 100% of the proceeds goes to purchase school supplies and clothes for underprivileged kids in the city.  If you want something more substantial to eat, there are a wide variety of places to choose from in Fell’s. The Sound Garden media store were sponsors of the event.  It was a perfect night to watch an outdoor movie; the weather was great, a nice breeze running through your hair.  It was great to be sitting out by the water and hanging out with your pals and seeing other Baltimoreans enjoying summer life! 

I recall when I was in college, a lot of people said there’s nothing to do in the area, but last night affirmed this misnomer.  Baltimore is a great city – so much to do, so little time.  I mean for goodness sakes, it’s a city!  There is something to do for everyone – whatever peaks your interest, Baltimore’s got it!  It’s truly a matter of one being proactive to find what’s out there.   Keep that in mind!  I must say out of the various neighborhoods I’ve been to, Fell’s Point is definitely my fave! 

For more information on future showings of Movies on the Pier, visit:  http://www.cdjoint.com/filmsonthepier.cfm

Until next time…

This is Ankur…

Signing off..

One thought on “Movies on the Pier in Fell’s Point

Leave a Reply

