Miss Shirley’s is a hit!

I started off the work week by going to lunch with a buddy of mine.  We’ve been meaning to get together for lunch for a while and Monday was our day.  We decided to stray from the usual chain establishments like Panera and Chipotle (no offense to them of course!) and go to a Baltimore fave – Miss Shirley’s. 

If you’ve kept up with previous posts, I love breakfast anytime of the day, so lunch at Miss Shirley’s was perfect for me!  For a sit down restaurant during lunch time, Miss Shirley’s was bumping!  To the left of the registers, there is a 16×20 framed photograph honoring Miss Shirley and her spirit.   It’s definitely a very welcoming place and it seems like it would be a cool hangout place for students and families alike. 

The menu selection is rather extensive.  I noticed there were a lot of dishes that incorporated seafood components, which I’m sure is well received by Baltimoreans.  While scanning the menu, I noticed they definitely have those sweet, tasty foods that you can indulge in, but at the same time they cater to those who observe healthier eating habits.  Even though I’m going to Mexico in a couple of weeks, I was still indulging myself in the delicious menu offerings at Miss Shirley’s.  In the end, I selected the Athena omelet – a hearty omelet with feta cheese, olives, and pepperoncinis with a side of fresh hashbrowns.  Good breakfast foods definitely hit the spot!  My buddy Tyler enjoyed his ham and cheese sandwich as well. 

In the end, I’m really glad we branched out and tried a Baltimore classic.  Miss Shirley’s Cafe is expanding with its second location opening on Pratt St in August 2008.  For lunch, I think it’s a little on the pricey side (I spent $16), but for a dinner I think it’s pretty reasonable.  If you would like to check out their website, go to www.missshirleys.com.

Bon a’petit…Until next time..

This is Ankur…

Signing off…

Leave a Reply

