Collegetown Night at Camden Yards

This past Friday night was definitely one of the best nights of my life!  I always enjoy going to an Orioles game with a good friend of mine, but last Friday night was extra special! 

Every semester, the Orioles and the Baltimore Collegetown Network work together to host Collegetown Night at Camden Yards.  Every Friday night at Camden Yards is Student NIght, where tickets for students are $6 with a valid Student ID.  WIth Collegetown Night, we encourage all colleges and universities in the Baltimore area to come out and show their support for the Orioles.  We had plenty of students from Hopkins, Villa Julie, McDaniel, MICA, Towson, and others cheering on the Orioles to a victory!

Other than sitting with my awesome colleagues and my best friend, I would say the highlight of the night was hands down throwing out the first pitch!  Originally, I was going to be a part of the Heavy Hitters Ceremony, which meant I would get to be on the field before the game started, shake hands with the Oriole, and get an autographed ball. 

I got a call from the Orioles and they told me they were able to ask someone to throw the first pitch and they asked me!  I was definitely in shock, but I quickly said yes!  Who would pass up the opportunity to throw the first pitch!?!?  I was definitely nervous earlier in the day.  I kept thinking to myself – What if I don’t have good aim?  What if it’s short of home plate?  When I got to the field around 6:40, I was anxious more than anything.  I was feeling the energy of the crowd and soaking up this once in a lifetime opportunity.

The ball girl, Ashley, walked me onto the field to the pitcher’s mound and stood a few feet away from me.  The announcer yelled “Ankur, are you ready?  Go ahead and throw the first pitch!”  I took my time because I didn’t want the moment to end.  I kept in mind all the advice I got from people earlier in the day and threw that ball.  The ball sailed to home plate!

The rest of the game was awesome!  I had a great time chatting it up my colleagues and my best friend.  I’m definitely looking forward to the next Collegetown Night at Camden Yards.  Stay tuned for details!

Signing off..

This is Ankur..

  

Leave a Reply

